Letting the inner kid out

Read this amazing piece of writing by Alice Tate on Refinery and loved it – http://www.refinery29.com/alice-tate. Why I loved it so much that I am blogging during my lunch hour? I think it’s got to do with the fact it’s so well written and the fact that I have been guilty of buying kid/ little-girl clothing one too many times.

Moving to the US from Singapore was one of the biggest ego boosts ever. At 5’6″ and 112Lb, I was the “small” but not “extra small” among the petite Asian girls. That changed as soon as I moved to the US. Sizes are magnanimous here. I remember walking into Express and fitting right into a Size Zero which is the smallest size they carried. I was overjoyed. I think I bought the jeans ONLY coz it was a size zero and I fit into it.

Now I don’t have a boyish figure and nor am I too short, but none of the ski gear for adults ever fit me. Not to mention it was too expensive to experiment with. I mean, I don’t want to pay $400 in ski-gear to see if I am going to “like” skiing. I better god-damn love it! So when I walked to the girls section and found a cute Northface jacket for only $80, I grabbed it.

Just as the writer mentions, I am also guilty of wearing kid clothes. The youngest clothing I ever wore was a $10 7-year-olds Paddington bear t-shirt – which, according to friends, was coolest quirkiest t-shirt ever. I can vouch for the writer when she says she has the same experience (ok, I know I wasn’t in a fashion week or something, but hey, I rolled with pretty fashionable crowd).

Have you ever been guilty of wearing kid/ teenage clothing?

Leave a Reply

